RESOLUTION NO. 20-2023-2024

A RESOLUTION OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION OF THE TAHOE TRUCKEE UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT DECLARING APRIL 23, 2024 SCHOOL BUS DRIVER'S DAY

WHEREAS, Annually, on the fourth Tuesday of April, the People of California officially recognize all school bus drivers for their continued and excellent services to the youth of the state, and these drivers are deserving of special public recognition and the highest commendations; and

WHEREAS, The safety of our children rests in the hands of trained school bus drivers for up to six or seven hours each school day; and

WHEREAS, Personal time and energy are expended by school bus drivers in their initial training, maintaining a current license, perfecting their driving skills, and accruing added knowledge of school bus laws through continuing education classes; and

WHEREAS, School bus drivers frequently assist students in learning and growing in appropriate interactive peer and adult behaviors through counseling and/or disciplinary techniques, and,

WHEREAS, School bus drivers often face natural and unexpected hazards in the performance of their duties; and

WHEREAS, School bus drivers exhibit patience and kindness toward pupils, parents, and school staff in the performance of their duties; and

WHEREAS, School bus drivers consistently demonstrate an awareness of, and direct attention to, the mechanical and safety conditions of the school bus routes; and

WHEREAS, School bus drivers perform their services for thousands and thousands of accident-free miles, year after year;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Tahoe Truckee Unified School District hereby recognizes and honors the contribution of the school bus driver in the Tahoe Truckee Unified School District and designates April 23, 2024 as School Bus Driver's Day in California.

ADOPTED this 10th day of April 2024, by the Tahoe Truckee Unified School District Board of Education, Placer County, California.

Dianna Driller, President Board of Education Denyelle Nishimori, Member Board of Education

Kirsten Livak, Member Board of Education

Patrick Mooney, Member Board of Education Cristina Hennessey, Clerk Board of Education

Kerstin Kramer Superintendent Chief Learning Officer